index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: Bouncy. LA tomorrow!!!!
reading:: The Lecturer's Tale
movie du jour:: Shag
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2003-08-28 | 2:38 p.m.
'Snaps Anonymous? Not too likely.
"Addiction" is a word that's tossed around so casually these days... but I'm afraid that I must use it in all its Merriam-Webster glory. An addiction is considered to be persistent compulsive use of a substance known by the user to be harmful, and I? Am addicted to gingersnaps. I don't know why it is, or how it happened, but I am simply incapable of going a few hours without a handful of 'em. Those folks over at Stauffer's have been putting something in these cookies, and damned if I can stop. I've read and reread the ingredients, trying to find something that might be sketchy, and therefore causing this to happen. There are the basics: enriched flour (what's *really* the enriching process? hmmm?), soybean oil (support the bean industry! er, sorry. I come from a bean-farmin' family), caramel color (um, why?), sugar, and then we get to the questionables~~ginger (understandable), molasses (expected), cinnamon (no self-respecting cookie is without it), cloves (cloves? as in clove cigarettes? with the addictive nicotine? a-ha! oh, wait... damn), chili powder (wait. what?) and red pepper (again, I say what??).

Chili powder?
Red pepper?
Now wait just a minute.

Wasn't there a study done regarding chili addiction? Why, yes there was. The only problem with this study is that it tells me it's not an actual addiction. And that's a good sign; I mean, a gingersnap addiction? Where would I go for help? 'Snaps Anonymous? Besides, I can stop anytime I want. I just don't want to... The flip side is that they think that this, as with most addictions, is a socially-influenced behavior. Um, I think I'm the only person I know who eats these things; we don't have ginger parties or anything. But now that I think about it, I think I can trace the beginnings back to living with Georgette in Das Alpenhaus, with her big bag of candied ginger that I wasn't sure I liked. Obviously, something changed. (Thanks, Georgette. Way to turn me to the dark side.)

So, ideas? Tips? Any known side effects from eating gingersnaps for breakfast, mid-morning snack, lunchtime dessert, afternoon snack? (yeah, other than weight gain, smartass) Because I really really love 'em, but I really, really need to stop. I don't know how much longer I can take the guys coming up to my desk and telling me "hey, Ginger, snap to it," without taking drastic measures.

Don't get me wrong. Ginger is a good nickname that fits well and is a lot better than what else they have, and will, come up with. But come *on*. A new joke, please.
And while you're at it, I need another bag. $1.99 downstairs at CVS. Hop to it.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17