index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling::
reading::
movie du jour::
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2002-10-07 | 11:40 a.m.
...comments about my personality being similar to lightning.--I'm still not laughing
Another birthday passed, and all I have to show for it are these wonderful, great pictures! I'm so excited--my friends banded together and purchased 2 of these for me. Another huge and public *Thanks* to them for this. (And for those of you making the tongue-in-cheek comments about my personality being similar to lightning... I'm still not laughing.)

The rest of the birthday was full of house-cleaning and laundry, with a side of ice-cream eating and visiting a dear friend. And honestly, isn't that the way it should be? (The latter, not so much the former) The place is almost ready to be lived-in; the cleaning lady needs to come and de-cat the house and I'm all good. Now I just need to find the heater...

What you need to do immediately after work is go to your local video house of rental and rent A Straight Story immediately. I watched it late last night, and am sorry to say that it had been on the list but I never got around to it. I am generally wary of David Lynch, but this was not what I expect from him. And Richard Farnsworth? He first started acting in 1937~he's an institution unto himself! There's something that older actors bring to a role...it's more than craft experience, it's the experience of the ages that they've lived through, the things they've seen that have made them such complex people.

I can't explain it, but he acts more with a look than any star of today can with an entire scene of direction.

See it. It might be 'slow and quiet', but it's good for you.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17