index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling::
reading::
movie du jour::
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2002-10-17 | 9:05 a.m.
Trout lips! He's got trout lips!
I'm lounging on the couch in front of Bravo's 1a somnolency, idly wondering why the hell I'm not asleep, when thru the haze comes that raspy sexy voice from my youth...but as I emerge I realize that my darling anti-hero is now hawking Panasonic, and promising that it will change my world.

J.D., WHAT HAPPENED?!?!

You were great in the early years, and then sort of began a downward slide...but Panasonic? I'm quite disappointed.

~~~~~

Willa Cather Fest continues: I attended the screening of a WC-unapproved film version of My Antonia. I don't know why they make a big deal about it not being approved since it came out 48 years after she died... but I can see why she wouldn't approve it. It was 2 hours long, and here are just a few of my notes from the film, in order:

Lance Henrickson and a junior Micheal J Fox? Who are these people?

I'm in hell.

Regional accents? Who's the dialect coach? Hell, who's the dialogue coach?

Aha! They used the money from the missing dialect coach to pay for the hammered dulcimer combo. Good thing they got their money's worth from those two.

Shatner speaks!

Trout lips! He's got trout lips! WHO IS THIS KID???

Craptastic. It's crap. All crap. All of it. Horrible.

(and it goes on and on and on...)

I'm telling you, it was awful. I barely made it thru the subsequent lecture, my brain couldn't take it. I finally found out that this kid who was so familiar and who I kept seeing as 'younger', as some kid in a family show like something with Wilford Brimley or Life Goes On... he's little Doogie Howser all growed big!

Sorry, but I didn't grow up on that stuff. It takes me longer to access pop culture references from the 80s/early 90s. Regardless, it was weird seeing a 25 year old play a 12 year old...but if anybody could, it'd be little Neil. Personally I can't stand the guy, but I loved him in Starship Troopers so a lot can be forgiven.

And the initial Lance Henrickson thing--sorry. Not him, but some German named Norbert.

Yes, Norbert. I'm sure his mother's very proud.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17