index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling::
reading::
movie du jour::
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2003-03-13 | 8:09 a.m.
Bring it on. I'm ready to be entertained forever.
I rushed home last night after book group #1, excited to watch a show that, due to TV rescheduling, I haven't been able to watch since January. Imagine my abject horror at being subjected to an hour of Capeside Capers (which seem to have moved to Boston) instead of a ooey-gooey tasty treat with a surprise center.

Just take away my remotes and call me hopeless...a disgrace to the technological generation to which I belong. I am incapable of programming my cable and VCR to work, in tandem, towards helping me watch as much TV as humanly possible. Since digital cable is of the devil, that stupid converter box-thingy doesn't work to my advantage. I just want all of my shows! Now!

::waaaaaaaaahhh::

If I whinged at them, my parents would tell me that perhaps this is a sign that I don't *need* to watch so much TV, and that it's time to get off my butt and do something else. (That's a paraphrase since they'd never be that crass). On the other hand, I see it as an opportunity to better my situation. Oh yeah. That way may lead to madness, but it's one I embrace willingly and with a dent in the couch the size of my...entire body. Bring it on. I'm ready to be entertained forever.

~~~~~

There's something called 'gapers' block' or the 'train-wreck syndrome'--an accident happens and you can't help but slow down and look. I admit to being a rubbernecker whilst flying down the Eisenhower, but my crime is more damaging: I watch movies known to be bad. How do I know? I already saw 'em and heaped hatred upon them the first time around. But that's the only acceptable, rational reason I found myself with half my attention on Lestat and Aaliyah and the other half on math. Specifically, GED level A geometry.

I've been asked to tutor some GED-bound students in their math, with emphasis on applied mathematics and therefore some general geometry principles. I took the test home to work it (and found out I could still pass high school at this point in my life)...and while I'm proud to say my SHS math education was both comprehensive and memorable, I missed a few questions concerning things like congruent angles and vertices. I thought I knew how to multiply fractions but I have yet to get #23 correct. My frustration was punctuated by the horrible action and acting on the screen which I can't seem to turn past, but here's a dim ray of happiness which is Lena Olin. Yay! Kill Aalyiah NOW!


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17