index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling::
reading::
movie du jour::
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2003-04-14 | 2:12 p.m.
We have strands of ever-present clear lights ringing the tree, but each holiday is heralded by the appropriate motif/symbolism.
Well, my hand lotion on my desk just betrayed me, and I am now wearing streaks of Sun-Ripened Raspberry across my front...as is my keyboard and desk.

Can I call an inanimate object 'bastard'? 'Cuz it is.

~~~~~

If you've got 2 hours and some spare change (i.e. a $10), look for The Good Thief starring Monte Carlo and Nick Nolte. It's a dark and drug-infested romp through Nice, but it's hard to dislike Nolte's Bob. Bob's a man who, no matter what he does or how, you really want to beat the system.

Besides, it's a nice look at gambling (in Monte Carlo, no less) and art, with a fun soundtrack and some good French practice for you Francophiles.

Need a better review? (I'm lazy today) Other Good Sites

~~~~~

I was coming home from Cinema 2.0 (last night's offering? Hell Comes To Frogtown, starring Rowdy Roddy Piper. It's Mad Max, yet not since it's both set in the US and not starring Mel Gibson) when I realized that my landlord had finally found closure. Fluttering in the breeze above my porch flew a full-size Cubs flag. The Cubbies are in town, and Wayne can finally show his support.

My landlord is a man with too much free time and no lawn goose. Instead, he decorates a 5' evergreen for each holiday/season/event. We have strands of ever-present clear lights ringing the tree, but each holiday is heralded by the appropriate motif/symbolism. Thanksgiving? Turkeys. Christmas? Actual ornaments and over-sized lights. New Year's? Top hats. You get the ideas. If there's a holiday, there are the appropriate lights. Of course, we now come to the crux of the matter: Easter is late this year. It's later than Opening Day, in fact, causing consternation upstairs. What to do? You can't take down the Easter decorations before Easter, but the season. has. started. (The fact that it lasts until OCTOBER doesn't seem to matter) So we have the strings of plastic eggs wrapped around the tree for another week and the flag hanging proudly from the second floor.

Of course, next Monday will find the little illuminated baseball hats wrapped around the tree, but until then--we support via the flag.

And honestly? Much better than a goose when drunkly telling the cabbie which house is mine.

~~~~~

Tomorrow I'm going to tell you all about the West Side Story Sing-A-Long, and why you should go participate.

Be warned. Or afraid. Or just skip it.

Wednesday will be a review of A Mighty Wind (wooo!) and then I'll be done for the week. But 3 entries in 3 days? I'm getting scared of my dedication!

~~~~~

Last but not least, load up this baby (you need Quicktime) and get ready to giggle: Endless Love, courtesy of My Favorite Punk. *mwah*


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17