index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling::
reading::
movie du jour::
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2003-04-17 | 10:19 a.m.
I'm sorry. It's MY OPINION. Calm down. You read these to find out my *opinion*. Put the gun/grenade/assult item down.
Well, I had a lovely entry detailing just what I thought and felt about A Mighty Wind, crafted with witticisms and sly humor.

Then that rat-bastard browser of mine ate it, and I had to go meet my mom at the train station... and therefore, we are now without a decent review. Lemme recap it for you:

A Mighty Wind, Christopher Guest's newest satire co-written with Mr. Eyebrows (Eugene Levy) is a fun but less-than-side-splitting take on Folk Music.

::put on flack helmet and vest::

::hunker down::

I'm sorry. It's MY OPINION. Calm down. You read these to find out my *opinion*. Put the gun/grenade/assult item down.

I expected more. It's witty, it's clever, and that's all shown in the previews. Of course, they showed all the good bits in the previews, which takes a lot of the fun out of it. It's wry and sly and I wanted to laugh really hard, but I never did...and I laugh at *anything*.

Just...average humor, (overly) slow pacing, and a great performance by Eugene Levy's eyebrows.

Seriously. Those should have seperate membership in SAG. They do amazing work.

A quick run-down on who did what: I love Parker Posey just because she takes on all sorts of roles with gleeful abandon. She's fun here, but not really utilized.

The Folksmen (Michael McKean, Christopher Guest, Harry Shearer) were a joy to watch because they've been together for sooooo long, and it showed in their relaxed jamming and interaction. And their songs are hillarious.

Catherine O'Hara? Can do no wrong. However, she can be undersupported and/or just not have enough to work with, and I think that happened here.

And my *favorite* actress from these movies is Jennifer Coolidge, the *ahem* less-bright member of the ensemble. She of the bad collagen and too-tight pants, she of the hideous accent and vapid conversation...I love her. And I had no idea she was Stifler's mom. Did you?

So, basically? Not as good as I hoped. But it should have good outtakes and extras. Check the DVD.

"A mighty wind is blowing, blowing you and me."

Indeed.

PS. A big thanks to The Professor for the tickets. He thought Rusted Root was more important, and I think he made the right choice.

~~~~~

I will admit that my view was skewed by the fact that the movie started 30 minutes late, due to the fact they were letting people in one at a time and didn't start until 7:30. Y'know, when the movie was supposed to start. And I hadn't had dinner yet. Or a drink. Or pretty much anything causing my blood sugars to rise back to their happy normal levels. And then... it's too much to describe. I'm not impressed with XRT, but it was a free movie and I have to remember that. Interns are not paid employees, and it shows.

~~~~~

It's a half-day at work (markets all close early) and then they're all closed tomorrow, which means... yippee! A long weekend! So I'm outta here, and will happily decorate eggs and eat good food and see old friends from far away, all while sleeping more than my fair share of the weekend away.

Happy Easter!

Later, taters.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17