index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling::
reading::
movie du jour::
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2003-04-28 | 3:01 p.m.
And now a huge, and I mean GIANT, shoutout to my little sister!
There is nothing more entertaining than watching an action hero attempt to emote anything other than 'mad', 'angry' or 'extremely pissed off'. They struggle, oh how they struggle, to convey the depth of feeling due to their dead wife or lost badge or shame in losing teammates. And really, the only difference in facial expression can be found in the clenching of the jaw, making the muscle bulge out.

I had been called, again, at 3:20p on Thursday to affirm that my tutoring help was not necessary at 4:15p--he did the homework I assigned, had started reading the Geometry section, and felt that he was doing fine. He'd "see [me] next week when [he] had questions". PEFRECT. My favorite way to deal with rejection--drown myself in a movie. And not just any movie, but the guilty-pleasure genre.

Everybody's got one; the closeted sci-fi-geek, the hidden romance-loving tough-guy, the secretive foreign-film fancier. But me? I love, love, love bad movies. Specifically bad action movies, the cheesier, the cornier, the better. And that is why I paid my $5.75 and settled in to see A Man Apart.

So my secret's out. Don't think less of me for it.

The previews made the price of admission worth it, actually. 'Cuz when you're seeing a bad action movie, they assume you'll want to see others! So, no crappy previews full of boy-meets-girl-and-all-cuteness happens here. We get the good stuff. Bad Boys II. C'mon. Will Smith? Martin Lawrence? Joe Pantoliono? Admid you love them and move on. The Real Cancun, a movie where we see what *really* happens on Spring Break. Riiiiiiiiight. Have you seen the cast? I rest my case. Identity, with a cast of great actors and a crazy plot. I had to miss the preview the other night. I'm still angry. But check this out: Sutherland, Norton, Statham, Green, Wahlberg, Theron. The Italian Job. Granted, it's a remake hated by reviewers and Ed Norton did it *only* because of contractual obligations, but c'mon. Car chases with those cute Minis, double-crossing, a whole lotta gold, and a big heist. The summer's looking bright, kids.

The movie itself? Eh... Too long, too easy, too it's-been-done-before, too much facial hair. Vin Diesel (I swoon. Again with the guilty pleasures) should realize that he's not meant to have a face (or head) marred by fuzz, nor should he wear that many layers. The former makes his look, well, awful, and the latter makes him all boxy like a turtle with a stunted neck.

I really hope that whoever thought of this movie didn't actually expect it to be taken seriously. I'm sure they're making great statements regarding both the drug pipeline to California as well as NAFTA, but I think I couldn't quite grasp it with all those anvils falling around me.

However, it totally fit the requirements for 'bad movie' and 'balm to my broken soul' so I headed to dinner with a lighter heart.

~~~~~

I'm supposedly meeting him tomorrow. We'll just see how much of that geometry he conquered. Between you and me--I don't think it'll be very much.

~~~~~

And now a huge, and I mean GIANT, shoutout to my little sister:

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, CIN!

She's a whopping 23, which puts her a scant 17 years from 40. Laugh it up, little sis--you'll be there soon enough! You're the best little sister a girl could have. I love you.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17