index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling::
reading::
movie du jour::
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2003-04-30 | 10:55 a.m.
Of course, with the ratio of lightbulbs bright vs. dim, I'll be waiting approximately another 83247293472 years for the next moment of student clarity.
HALLELUJAH!

Yes, I'm in a good mood and channeling Handel. I tutored last night, and the lightbulb shone over his head as he learned how a diameter and radius are related, and how we find the area of a circle.

It was a rocky start (he did the homework, true, but remember when you didn't understand *how* and just copied the answer from the back of the book? Yeah, he *did* the homework in that it was completed) but it picked up when we hit the geometry. I love geometry. At least the basic stuff; it's fun, it's easy, and you don't have to deal with theorems or proofs. And it's legitimate doodling during class...perfect for me. So now if we can just keep going, I might have 2 good sessions in a row. I'm hopeful.

Now I understand why those crotchety old teachers held on, even when they seem to hate children--that moment of understanding that you've imparted just makes it worth it.

Of course, with the ratio of lightbulbs bright vs. dim, I'll be waiting approximately another 83247293472 years for the next moment of student clarity.

Did I mention I only have 4 weeks of tutoring left?

Yay, me.

~~~~~

How is it that my entire year, from now until Thanksgiving, is pretty much booked? How did that happen? When did that happen? Why?! I still have to visit DC, LA, Maine, Eau Claire, Normal, and somewhere obscenely warm/tropical before 12/31. There's no friggin' way that it's possible, but you know me--I *will* succeed. I might be broke and perpetually jet-lagged, but since that's a normal summer experience for me, why not try it year-round?

And if you're in one of the places mentioned above: yes, I'm serious. I hope to be there this year. It's been too long.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17