index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: Enervated
reading:: Clarissa's terrible, awful, horrible no good Day (aka Mrs Dalloway)
movie du jour:: Wit
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2003-06-20 | 1:08 p.m.
samba + bacon = happiness
The Evanston Escola de Samba is playing downstairs in the plaza, the sun is shining, the breeze is rippling, and all manner of white-collar workers are doing their damnedest to not wriggle and ::gasp:: dance as the samba parade thrums past. Give up, people--it's a samba fanfare. It's SUPPOSED to make you move!

There were little kids dancing and hopping around, which is what we all wish we were doing.

Samba! Bossa Nova! I grew up on Jobim and Mendes... it's nice to see the rest of the world catch up and catch on to how. much. fun. this music is.

Of course, having a BLT does wonders for my outlook.
Samba+bacon=happiness
mmmmmm (hey, everything's better with bacon)

My poor neighbors upstairs...they're going to get an earful of Brasileiro when I get home this afternoon! You really should buy it. It's the CD you put on when you commence with your big Spring Cleaning Day! and crank it up as loud as possible, and dance around because winter is over and it's time to *move*!!!

Or, that's just me.

~~~~~

On the complete and opposite other hand, check out HBO's adaptation of Margaret Edson's prize-winning play 'Wit'. It stars Emma Thompson, and is one of a handful of movies that reduces me to a sad, sobbing mess because of what is *not* said.

It's soooo sad.

It's soooo good. You have to see it. Just have some Kleenex handy.

I was killing time before a dinner picnic, and flipped past it. It was right next to Spiderman, but I couldn't stop watching Wit. I knew it was coming--my chin started doing its impression of a tall jello tower, so I flipped over to Willem Defoe. It didn't help, or stop the wobbling. I knew what was coming...and I admitted defeat and sobbed uncontrollably as Emma Thompson lay on the bed, broken, near death, and without hope while an old friend read her The Runaway Bunny.

Find the movie, watch it.

**Momma, congratulations. 10 years ago this month. I love you more than life itself.**


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17