index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: Excited
reading:: Heretics of Dune
movie du jour:: Hulk
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2003-06-26 | 9:38 a.m.
This is not a tanning weekend, my friends
Oh, man...

This weekend, I'm sailing in the Queen's Cup. We sail Milwaukee-Grand Haven overnight, recover, and return. Last year, the race itself took 12 hours, and then the return trip... well, I think it ultimately clocked in around 16 hours. So this year? Same deal, but instead of recovering all day Saturday and having a real meal Saturday night... we'll be casting off around 4p on Saturday and returning by the light of the silvery moon.

The good: we dock in daylight AND have Sunday afternoon to recover.

The bad: it's kinda cold in the middle of the Lake. And by 'kinda', I mean 40s. Damp 40s. I'll be wearing multiple layers of fleece, insulated gear, and my cute purple ski-hat. (Yes, momma, I've got all my 'find me in the dark' gear as well)

This is not a tanning weekend, my friends.

I'll tell you all about it on Monday; hopefully I'll have fine motor control back by then and will be able to type!

~~~~~

For those who care about such things: the batting slump is over. I hit the ball a couple of times, and think it can only get better from here. So, yay! (It was getting embarrassing and demoralizing there for a while...)

~~~~~

Friendster is the biggest time-sucking, voyeuristic, failed dating/hookup site out there today.

Of course I love it. Go. Sign up. It's fun to play your own version of '7 degrees of...'

ETA: I just had my first *real* strawberry of the summer.
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17