index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: Waterlogged
reading:: (avoiding) The Lovely Bones
movie du jour:: Legally Blonde
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2003-07-18 | 8:02 a.m.
My entire street was under water.
Water.

Lots and lots of water came pouring out of the sky yesterday, rapidly flooding the entire city...and it was really fun. My entire street, the entire thing, was under water. Thoroughly flooded. If a little boat full of animal couples had floated past, I would not have been surprised. People couldn't cross streets because of the water, and at the curb, it was seriously up to almost my knee. (Trust me, I didn't dwell on the implications) I was just really happy that I had time between deluges to repot some of my plants and let the rain wash the debris away. My chives are valiantly hanging on to life, but my mint is growing gangly and crazily. I have this new herb I just bought: Purple Ruffles Basil which just called my name at the market yesterday. I have NO idea what to do with it other than not kill it.

My thumb? Is black. Not green.

So I have the plants, holding on by their xylem and phloem, and lots of flowers I bought myself (who waits for somebody to buy them flowers? you want the flowers, you buy the flowers), convention be damned. It's a veritable greenhouse 'round here.

~~~~~

I'm not sure how this happened, but I am currently the Harry Potter lending library for Tradeplace. I'm happy that they're reading more than the latest Maxim and Men's Health, or even Red Streak, but...they're my hardcover books! I'm a bit worried. I'm worried enough to make little dust jackets for them as they go out, to protect them from careless tosses and dropping 'em on the floor. Hey, I believe in the sanctity of books. I love 'em and think they're worthy of respect. Treat a book well--you wouldn't scratch up a CD or a DVD, would you?

~~~~~

Just call me Eagle-Eye M--I played softball on Wednesday, and have finally got my swing back. Batting Practice has been lookin good, and I am up to bat..."ball one. ball 2. ball 3. take your base." Rock. I'm waiting for a good one. I've got the eye.

I walk the following two at-bats.

I'm glad I could discern a ball from a strike, but I was READY to hit! Ready! And of course the season's almost over... grrr.

~~~~~

Tune in Monday. I'm helping paint a friend's place, and if last night is any indication--we suck. We might have been pros before this, but that bedroom? Kicked our butt.

ETA: The Hooters of Coffee? Indeed.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17