index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: Effervescent
reading:: Georgiana
movie du jour:: Seabiscuit
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2003-07-29 | 7:58 a.m.
You can thank me when you win that pink wedge
GOOD CHRIST. The Pentagon? Is STUPID. Let's make a federally-sanctioned betting pool as to when people will die. Mr. Poindexter? You, sir, are an ass.

(if you have problems with the NYT site, just login with user/password: corporatemedia/stillsucks, from librarian.net)

~~~~~

Many of you who read this (thanks again!) are people with millions of pieces of useless trivia in your head, ready to be pulled out in a game of Trivial Pursuit or Rock & Roll Jeopardy. Let me add one more piece, guaranteed to win you that pink wedge of pie:

Yankee Doodle went to town
Just to ride the pony
Stuck a feather in his cap
And called it macaroni

As a kid, I always thought that was an odd line but let it go--those old lyricists sure were crazy! But crazily enough, it's based in fact. In the late 1780s, some dandies/courtiers/gentlemen began dressing in more outrageous fashions, with frills and lace and feathers and whatnot. As many of them were members of the Macaroni Club, the style became... the Macaroni Style.

And there you have the reason Yankee Doodle called it 'Macaroni'.

~~~~~

My friend's sitting the Washington bar exam today--and if you're reading, GOOD JOB! I *know* you passed; no one studies as hard as you for this long and fails.

~~~~~

How did Tuesday night become must-see-cable night? Queer Eye, Boy Meets Boy, MI-5, nip/tuck...how am I supposed to watch all of these shows without TiVo?! I tell you, it's an exercise in precise vcr programming.
(For the record, these are all great shows and you probably should be watching at least one of 'em.)


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17