index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: groovy
reading:: The Lecturer's Tale
movie du jour:: Rear Window
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2003-08-25 | 10:28 a.m.
Mike, You're my hero!
Note to self: don't watch 'Alien: Resurrection' and then the 3-hour special about the Alien franchise and not expect to have disturbing dreams. The first half of Oakenfold's 'Ready Steady Go' video is on repeat in my head, too. It was a weird morning...but I now know all about the making of the aliens, and why they scare the hell out of us. Still.

Did you know that James Cameron (who directed the second one) actually created the models for the Alien Queen and the aliens? Or that most of the first movie was unrehearsed (at least dialogue-wise)?

Yeah, useless trivia. But it's fun.

~~~~~

I went to cheer my friend at the Triathlon yesterday. He is TOTALLY the man. While waiting for him to come down the final stretch of the running portion (and finish the race), MLB and I cheered for everybody who came thru. After 3 hours, we saw some people who were taking the event a little less seriously than others, and I was glad to see it. If they hadn't, I would have missed the biggest green 'fro EVER; a dragon/lizard hat, complete with neck and back ridges; a moo-cow (holstein, I believe); a man in a grass skirt with a lei (the entire crowd roared when they saw him approach the finish line); a runner with a bright yellow shirt emblazoned "I'm Pat" and his yellow-shirted support team, emblazoned "Pat's Team"; a man with "Go Dan!" on his chest; and dozens of kids excited to see their dad/mom/aunt/uncle/cousin/friend running, who would run alongside them for a few yards, excited and encouraging their runner with heartfelt 'way to go!'s from reedy child-voices.

It was way fun.

It was scary, tho, to see the professionals breeze thru. For some people, finishing the triathlon was a struggle (and rightly so), but then these superathletes come thru, looking like they're just warming up. Oh well...those who can, do. Those who can't, support.

Mike, You're my hero!


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17