index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: Ready to party
reading:: Memoirs of a Geisha
movie du jour:: Strictly Ballroom
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2003-11-01 | 6:01 p.m.
I *told* you I'd update daily.
You didn't think I could do this, did you?

HA.

So, The Children's Festival--yes, I was a saint to deal with 'em on All Saint's Day. My only question is...HOW are these kids going to turn out when they're uncontrolled and their parents don't stop them from running around the recital hall, drooling suckers and running onstage at will--I mean, honestly? These parents bring their children to a nationally-known and acclaimed storyteller who is ON STAGE and treat it like a birthday party at Chuck E Cheese...

I hate them. Yes, some big donor-family hosted a FRICKIN BIRTHDAY PARTY for 4 & 5 year olds. Last I checked, metaphor, life lessons, and mythology (the story of King Midas) are lost on the small fry when it takes longer than 2 minutes to disseminate.

Frustrating? Oh, YEAH.

The flip side: donuts for breakfast. Donuts for lunch. Donuts for mid-afternoon snack. I'm totally donutted out. The sugar high helped me survive the ride home as the drunkest drunk woman I've ever seen was on the el and proceeded to freestyle for 30 minutes. Free association in my own head is ok, because the random things I come up with are understandable to my good friends. Hers? Not so much.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17