index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: Okey dokey
reading:: The Crimson Petal and the White
movie du jour:: The Missing
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2003-12-02 | 3:47 p.m.
Nov 25 entry, catching you up to Thanksgiving festivites
Continued from previous entries

Story 4: In which I catch up on two weeks' worth of work AND still find time for a life. Sorta.

Nothing like making up for 10 days off work with a 11 hour workday. Oh yeah, it was horrible. Untangling spreadsheets, prepping for interviews, organizing the office, dealing with the space planners, and wishing that I had the magical ability to freeze time. Mondays are always my worst days, and this was a mutha of a Monday. Wednesday was MLB's vocal recital, but instead he told me to skip it and use his free movie passes instead. I saw The House of Sand and Fog, where Jennifer Connelly plays yet another miserable, depressing, not-to-sympathetic character. I mean, this girl hasn't been in a happy role since The Rocketeer, and that was the early 90s. Ben Kingsley rocked as always, and it's a really really good movie. Very deep. Check it out. (The review got eaten by the computer, and I'm too lazy to resurrect it for you. Again, I'm sorry.) Then on Friday, I went to a gallery opening, saw some friends, had a late dinner, and passed out at 10:30 on a Friday night. I'd been falling asleep around then all week, so I wasn't surprised...but c'mon. FRIDAY!

Zonk.

Finally, finally saw the third Matrix movie. Poo to you nay-sayers. I liked it. Low expectations equal pleasure at anything above suckiness. However, I do agree with Fametracker, so check it out. I'm telling you, M3 is basically Frank Herbert's Dune Messiah. Seriously. He deserves a shout-out, or a Thank You, or something. Don't believe me? Read Dune and Dune Messiah and come talk to me. I'll even buy you tea.

Watched the 'new' Oklahoma! starring Hugh Jackman. Man, that musical is a lot different at 27 than at 10. I still love Ado Annie, but that Curly is a right ass. Hit two house parties, remembered what it was like to have a life, and fell into bed by 3. THREE. I made it that late because instead of seeing the French-Canadian Ballet like I wanted, I slept right thru it. Oh well...money I didn't have, right? All of a sudden, I realize I'm going to Montreal in 4 days and start researching like a madwoman. I've made friends with a woman from the TUSboards and she's given me all the goods one where to stay/eat and what to do/see. HeatherC rocks, y'all. But more on her later. I tried a new black bean soup recipe, watched Remember The Titans, and got ready for Montreal by sleeping some more. I made it to 9:30p on Sunday. Yay, me.

Monday, the Violator was in town, which means a fun shopping trip for me to follow but this time, I actually bought something! Then Tuesday, I saw The Missing's preview, which was fun and amazingly shot in the Southwest and was universally panned by critics who seem to hate lil Opie now that he's all growed up. Of course, they also seem to hate the film so what can you do? Personally, I enjoyed myself. But I'm no critic so what's it matter?

Then Wednesday, last Wednesday, Montreal.

(And we're almost caught up, folks. Sorry, this was the boring bit. Wait til you hear all the French fun, eh?)


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17