index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: Giddy
reading:: The Crimson Petal and the White
movie du jour:: Titus
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2003-12-31 | 10:33 a.m.
Happy New Year 2004!
You have never really cleaned your floor until you're up close and personal with it. And by 'up close and personal' I mean 'on your hands and knees scrubbing the grime out of the wood grain at 10:30p on a Tuesday'. Yes, my cherubs, the rehab is almost done, which means a modicum of order is slowly returning to the house; this also means that I have to confront the layer of dust and heavy-duty dust that cover every inch of exposed space, appx 3 billion miles of surface area. It's the three-step process: vacuum, swiffer, scrub. And so it was last night, with me ending the cleaning session waddling around my dining room floor, scrubbing away and wondering just *how* people used to do this every damn week, and without kneepads to save their little patellas.

On the other hand, it does explain the obsession of those bodice-ripper authors who always have the titled gents attacking the help when they're scrubbing the floors...it's pretty dirrty what you're doing to the floor at that point, y'all. (You work up a sweat, too, so I guess I can consider it my cardio for the day.)

It's not something you should be doing with audience, if you get my drift. Well, unless you're an exhibitionist, and if that's the case--my floors are always available, and the guys are home Sunday if you need more of an audience. I'm sure they'd be willing to watch.

~~~~~

It's nice to see the critics get on the bandwagon and start raving about how great The House of Sand and Fog is. They should just listen to me more often, and pay me to write. We'd all be happier, and I'd have more money to pay a cleaning lady.

Go see it. It's a downer, but Ben Kingsley ROCKS as usual. And if you've avoided The Return of the King, you should just really go see it. You know you want to.

~~~~~

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17