index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: anticipatory
reading:: Rising from the Plains
movie du jour:: The Alamo
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2004-04-08 | 10:06 a.m.
Happy Easter, everybody!
You all should know how I feel about James Lileks by now, and how I adore the Gallery of Regrettable Foods, as well as Weight Watchers Cards via Wendy; but this one is even more fascinating because it's *British*. And the 60s were obviously not kind to international cuisine, either. I give you "The World's Worst Food". (Thanks, Joe) No, your monitor's tint function isn't off; it's *supposed* to be that color.

It's amazing what comes out of our parents' era, isn't it?

~~~~~

I'm sooo glad it's Thursday. I've been working terribly hard and we have a 3-day weekend that's going to be spent doing, well, nothing. A whole bunch of nothing, courtesy of the country house. I'm going home and watching some movies and hanging out in my jammies all day and basically being the teenager I was never allowed to be because I had a weekend job and chores and responsibilities and parents who thought that sleeping past 8a was indecent. I'll be mainlining two new obsessions: the British miniseries Ultraviolet that I taped off Sci-Fi (it's miniseries month! yay cable!) and the Matrix trilogy. I love me some Wachowski Bros fight scenes, y'all. The fact that the entire third disc is basically Dune Messiah doesn't bother me in the slightest. Imitation *is* the sincerest form of flattery, you know.

I can't wait for spring to get here so I can stop watching the idiot box and start *being* the idiot. Until then, however: Alias counts 'em down to the big finale, I hear 24 is grinding along, and Queer as Folk starts up next week. It's about damn time.
Now, to find somebody with Shotime...

~~~~~

Have you seen those crazy Toys 'r Us commercials with the singing bunnies? I don't know why, but it's oddly addictive...and I'm always searching for it. Something about them singing 'Here comes Peter Cottontail' that just makes me laugh for hours. Oh well.

Happy Easter, everybody!


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17