index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: sunny
reading:: The Iliad (Fagles trans.)
movie du jour:: Step into Liquid
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2004-04-29 | 11:30 a.m.
Yay team #14! I will forever cherish my hiccups.
Oh, IKEA, how I love thee. However, I'm a bit pissed because I only wanted 2 things and both were out of stock. J and I headed up there on Saturday to test some sofas (out of stock) and look for a tv bench-thing (out of stock) and then what's left but to buy up some candles and napkins and look at rugs and regret not owning a car or a house? It's amazing how many people go to Ikea--not that this is a surprise to anyone, mind you, it's just an amazing thing to watch people pour out of the place at 11a at the same rate of entry. A number of them were sofa hunting as well, and there were quite a few couples flopping on sofas and discussing slipcovers with an intensity reserved for a sale at Krista K. I'm sure J wanted to kill me; I flip-flopped over fabrics, sofa back height-requirements, arm width; pretty much any- and everything that defines a sofa. Same with the TV bench. They *say* that you should try out everything, that you should run it thru the battery of tests so you make sure you get just the right thing, but I think they were happy when I left the building. We had lunch at some asian-noodle place with banana-wonton dessert, and I'm telling you that burning the roof of my mouth was worth it. If you have the ability, just whip some up at home. Yum.

Headed home to the Cubs-invested Northside, stopped off at Target (in for a penny, in for a pound) and came home with an utterly domestic haul: candles, napkins, griddle, casserole and loaf pans, and cleaning gear. Disgusting, I tell you. Then off to the Fast Forward Film Festival to be surprised. I dragged Ash along with me, but the rest of the crew didn't brave the deluge attacking Chicago that night. I was lucky enough to have a car; the FFFF is over by the United Center, and I really don't enjoy wandering the Industrial/Crack zone after dark. At the fest, I ran into some friends who had submitted a film! It was quite exciting to know a group who was involved, and even more fun to know them once they were crowned the winners. Yay team #14! I will forever cherish my hiccups.

Sunday I could not find it in me to do anything, so I sat on the couch after church and read the paper and idly flipped the 4000 channels we currently have. I finally saw the entire thing of Satin Rouge which has little to do with Moulin Rouge apart from the baring costumes and the dancing. I've been catching parts of it for weeks, and now I really want to take up Belly Dancing again. I love that kind of music, it's just so...compelling. It's like good techno, where it gets inside of you and you can't help but move because you *are* the music.

And damn, that sounded like an E-fueled testimonial, didn't it?


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17