index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: chilled
reading:: Eats, Shoots & Leaves
movie du jour:: Pillow Talk
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2004-05-03 | 2:52 p.m.
We sat and talked and laughed for four hours, a respectable amount of time to be spent over finger food.
I have a confession: I love going to the fabric store. I love it more than I love to look at shoes, I love it more than eating gelato on a August afternoon, and I love it almost as much as an afternoon in the library. I took myself up to Hancock Fabrics up in Edgewater at 4:45p on Friday night and wandered out at 7:15 because they closed at 7p and would I just leave already? It's so addictive, it's so fraught with possibilities; I might want to whip up a pair of kicky capris, or finish those pillowcases for the sofa, or what about a skirt out of that nice challis over there? The bobbins, the notions, the doodads and stuff necessary to make something *right*. And, of course, the fabric...literal miles of fabric waiting for discovery. Needless to say, my eyes are always larger than my actual ambition, so it took some reigning in. However, I had my first pair of jammie-pants done by 1a, so I considered it an evening well-spent. (They're lightweight cotton with a muted tropical feel, and since they're essentially scrubs, I couldn't go wrong.)(Much)

Saturday, I had some friends over for high tea, and I have to tell you--I knocked their socks off. The full high tea, with scones and muffins and finger sandwiches and desserts galore and all sorts of teas to wash it down. We sat and talked and laughed for four hours, a respectable amount of time to be spent over finger food. We had to cut it short because J had to go to dinner (how she ate anything else is beyond me) and then I relaxed in a carb-coma. Yum. Of course, I was ignoring the mounds of dishes in the kitchen; if there's one thing I cannot stand, it's washing dishes. Never mind that I had already washed the small bowl appx 9 times because I needed it to make all the different foods, but...plates and cups and cookie sheets and bowls and the list goes on and I can't stand it. However, I had promised MLB to have it done by 10p so I felt victorious at 9:28p as I called to brag that the dishes were, in fact, done 32 minutes early.

I need my victories where I can find 'em.

However, due to the needs of the tea, I currently have an entire loaf of honey whole wheat 'cocktail bread' at my disposal. They're cute little squares, but what the hell am I going to do with them? I'm debating the merits of skinny french toast or a giant pile of sandwiches, each one the size of my palm. It *would* allow me to eat a large number of sandwiches yet be ultimately minor in volume.

Hmmm. I need to give this more thought. Any suggestions would be appreciated!

I also have a lot of lemon curd left. Lemon curd by itself is a bit much (too tart, too sharp, too too much), but I can't come up with any tasty uses. I *could* cover all manner of cakes and cookies with it, but I think that might be going over the edge into madness. Luckily, the office ate up the cookies I brought in this morning, removing one more temptation from my path. But there are still lemon bars and scones and chocolate mousse at home, and they have a siren song that I'm not immune to.

Tonight is the first softball game of the season. Every year, we start in the bitter cold and damp, and this year should prove no different. Why we're going to go hobble thru the mud with 9 layers on is beyond me, but I signed up for the fun and some sadist says it's fun so off I go. The worst part is when you try to throw the ball but your fingers are just cold enough that they don't quite know when to let go of the ball and it either arcs high above second's head or drops like a rock halfway between myself and them. Either way, it ain't pretty.

You can be sure I'll let you know how it turns out.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17