index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: thawed
reading:: Eats, Shoots & Leaves
movie du jour:: Step into Liquid
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2004-05-04 | 8:08 a.m.
At least it hasn't worked for me, so I'm not too hopeful for the unwashed masses.
I was in a mini pedestrian traffic-jam this morning; they're filming something around Wabash/Wacker and everybody *has* to check it out. Move it people, you're not going to be in the movie or romantically whisked off by the lead who can't resist your charms at 7:28a and will save you from the drudgery of a 8-5.

At least it hasn't worked for me, so I'm not too hopeful for the unwashed masses.

(Why hello, high horse. How are you? Want to go for a ride today? I have some more pronoucements to make.)

And since I'm here, I'll also comment on the sad state of the sidewalks along the south side of Lake between State and Wabash. In warmer months, the homeless flock around this stretch of scaffold-covered pocked sidewalk, and seem to use the doorways and nooks as their private boudoirs and powder rooms. If you're going to sleep there, fine. If you're moving in and hanging up month-old newspaper as decoration, go right ahead. But for the sake of little baby Jesus, STOP PEEING IN THE CORNERS. If, for some strange reason, I choose to walk thru and by strong urine smells, I live near Wrigley and the robust bar scene in Lakeview. I could walk around there and take my fill. However, it's 7:25a, I'm barely functioning, and I have a problem with taking a whiff of something incredibly unpleasant while remembering to watch my step.

~~~~~

Last night's inaugural softball game was, in a word, unfortunate. We were short a few people, including moi, since I did something to my back midday and was incapable of turning my body. Forwards, backwards, side-to-side--all good. But my twister was broken and I didn't want to piss it off further. I took some painkillers and headed up to the coldest softball game I've ever sat thru; by the end of the hour, my toes were numb and my ringfinger was white. The other 9 were raw and red and angry, but the stark contrast was a bit frightening. I blame all my frostbite problems on my parents, who raised me in the middle of nowhere and submitted me to one of the most miserable winter storms in Illinois history; the winter of '78.

Thanks, guys. I'll always think of you when I can't feel my extremities.

Did I mention it's May 3? MAY THIRD! Sheesh. Hurry up, sun.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17