index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: Relaxed
reading:: the paper
movie du jour:: no time for a film
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2004-05-10 | 3:01 p.m.
Of course, this could be because I'm about to have everything burned or stolen or something dire, but I really hope not.
I gotta tell you, there are few things more satisfying than flying down the open highway at high speeds in a convertible, full sun shining and the wind whipping my sister's hair into a frenzy. It was a good weekend.

My folks decided that it was time to reclaim their farming roots, so they bought The Pony. Technically, it's a 7 year old white Mustang, but when you're screaming along at a respectable 80mph, you don't split hairs. I love, love, love that car. I don't know which is more fun: the snap of the acceleration from a stop sign, or the growl when the engine revs. I need a motorcycle, stat.

Spent Saturday in Peoria, a well-kept furniture secret. (I have no qualms telling you, since you need both family in the area and a truck to haul your treasures home.) Since I have both, it was a relatively victorious adventure. More importantly, I got to hang out with my dad. He drove, I talked, and Harry Chapin crooned in the silences. Not too surprisingly, I sang along to a lot of the tape; who doesn't love 30,000 pounds of Bananas? I was thwarted in most of my purchasing; I wanted 4 things and came home with one. I tell you, every time I try to buy some houseware, it's been 'out of stock'. It's like a cosmic joke that I can't be allowed to buy furniture. Of course, this could be because I'm about to have everything burned or stolen or something dire, but I really hope not. It hasn't been a year, and I still don't think it's been long enough. (Forever will barely be long enough.)

The weather was gorgeous, we drove home with the windows down and I ended up with having a mild sunburn on my right arm. The freckles arrived as the red subsided, which was evened out on Sunday when I took The Pony out and fried my left arm. (Those freckles won't be seen for a few days. They're still pissed.) The weather was absolutely perfect this weekend. 80s, cotton cloudy, sunny, windy, perfect.
Nothing like having to wear jeans in this kind of weather and having that damp butt action because you're sweating. eeech.

Returned home to remember that there was a Cubs game Sunday and puddles to be avoided; microbursts attacked Wrigley all afternoon, so I really didn't miss a thing. The house was clean (yay!) because a girl spent the night (well, whatever gets the place cleaned up) and I spent the evening reading the paper outdoors. All in all, a great weekend.

Did I mention it was Mother's Day? I have the coolest mom, the greatest grandma, and some of the best moms I know are women I'm proud to call 'friend'.

And tonight? Amidst the supposed t-storms, I shall be playing softball and dodging lightning bolts. Yes, we are hard-core.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17