index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: full of dolmeh and baba ghannouj
reading:: The Journey of Desire
movie du jour:: Troy
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2004-05-17 | 4:09 p.m.
RIP, Marigold Bowl. I'll miss you.
I was in Bloomington over the weekend, which means I had to brave expensive and tardy Amtrak. (Amtrak: the way to really fly sit around and delay) The freight's gotta move on the rails, but it seems to happen with less problems in other countries. What are they doing that we're not?

There's just something incredibly wrong about watching a 3-4 year old running up and down the aisle of an Amtrak coach, full-volume, with neither adult caretaker noticing.

For HOURS.

And, from what I hear, closer to days. She boarded the day before in Texas, and the Texans on the train are about to reenact The Alamo.

I...I'm still not coherent in my disbelief (and outrage) so I won't inflict it upon you. But DAYUM. Leash your child or I will do it for you. And she won't like it, trust me.

~~~~~

I'm still digesting all that is Troy from yesterday's viewing. The short response: it was ok. The long, Techinicolor-n-Surround Sound diatribe: well, it still needs some polishing. And some editing. And a lot, a whole heapin' lot of Ctl+X work. That sucker is long, folks.

Mr. Petersen has a lot to answer for, starting with his CGI work.

~~~~~

Softball tonight! And, if we're lucky, it won't be rained out. Of course, if it is, that just means I'll be on-time to dinner, which is a nice time management strategy. And a interpersonal one as well.

~~~~~

RIP, Marigold Bowl. You were a good and generous bowling alley, replete with cool drinks, live karaoke, and un-automated scoring. I'll miss you and your close proximity to both my house and IHOP. I'll always have my white anklets with the bright yellow puffs on the backs, sold to me one drunken night when I didn't have socks. Thanks for the memories.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17