index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: run down
reading:: foodie mags
movie du jour:: Saved!
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2004-05-25 | 3:34 p.m.
Throw an 8 month old pug named Wheezie into the mix and it was madness and mayhem, the likes of which I haven't seen since the clubbing heydays of 2000-1.
Friday night I ended up babysitting 4 year old twins, who spent the first 30 minutes coyly ignoring me, and then the next 2 hours fighting to tell me the most. important. thing. ever. Throw an 8 month old pug named Wheezie into the mix (throw the ball! throw the ball! see, I can fetch! throw it again! throw it!) and it was madness and mayhem, the likes of which I haven't seen since the clubbing heydays of 2000-1. What was utterly surreal was the fact that we 'played' My Little Pony, better know to the children of the 80s as My Pretty Pony.* Huge t-storms rolled thru the area, prompting my need for some tea after the munchkins fell asleep. I found myself in the kitchen, methodically looking thru every cabinet, drawer, and jar to find a stupid tea bag. And if at first you don't succeed, look again. And again. I'm muttering to myself in bemused frustration--where the hell is the tea? It's not anywhere obvious. It's not anywhere out of small hands' reach. It's not by the booze cache (which I considered substituting, but I think that's the wrong message to send), it's not near anything. It's just not.

So I watched Fantasia with Wheezie wheezing against my leg and spent a Friday night in an incredibly pleasant way--coloring a velvet poster and eating bake sale cookies.

What'd *you* do?

~~~~~

I blew off my weekend plans to nurse a meh-feeling throat to no effect. I did get some good napping and reading in, and found myself wandering Broadway on Saturday night in hopes that somebody would give me a reason to do something. No good. But I did wander into the CD resale shop (danger! danger!) and immediately plunked down my hard-earned babysitting money for 6 DVDs that make me happy. Hello, impulse buying. Good thing they're all either hard-to-find or incredibly cheap! My Saturday night found me dozing in front of swash!swash!buckle!buckle! and hearing the storms continue to roll thru. Same thing Sunday, only I spent a little time outside on the patio reading the paper and thanking god that the game hadn't started yet. When it started, I headed indoors. Besides, it was the Alias finale, a highly-anticipated event! Damn ABC, telling the Chicagoland area about tornado watches...they could have waited for the commercials. Stupid weathercenter.

Alias is going to give me either a heart attack or an ulcer. And it's going to exponentially grow until Jan 05 when the new season starts. Stupid ABC.

Anybody been watching Deadwood on HBO? It's oddly compelling, except for the part where the word c**ks**ker is going to slip into my vernacular if I'm not careful. Seriously. That word is like breathing on that show. *sigh*

~~~~~

I'm going to Seattle! I'm so excited...I'm visiting Doofus's ex, J, who I really wish had stayed in town and he had left. Oh well, I can't have everything. Yet. But I'm ready to eat myself silly and see all the cute Navy men she works with. Oh yeah, I'll be in heels. By choice.

*This research was disturbing. Seriously--who the hell creates and maintains a website of soft-plastic equines from the 80s?

A lot of people, actually.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17