index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: much better
reading:: Pagan Holiday
movie du jour:: nada
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2004-08-11 | 1:46 p.m.
It's better than therapy! Well, technically it *is* therapy, but much more internal and satisfying...and you get a prize at the end.
I just finished Idiot Girls' Action Adventure Club. I love that book so hard... Last night as I went for my haircut, I grabbed some Caribou and crossed the street, realizing that I probably needed a good cry (or a good laugh) and then I'd feel better. Instead of curling up at home, I headed to paint raw pottery with some girlfriends at Glazed Expressions. I don't pretend to be artistic--that's the rest of my family. I'm more craft-oriented; I could create the ceramics that need to be painted, but I usually hand off the pretty-work to others. This time, I decided to try something simple and fun...but in my own, anal fashion. I avoided the mugs and teapots, as well as plates and bowls. But a box? I could do something small, angular and neat.

I arrived late (35 minutes) and started to work on a little clay box that I'm going to store teabags in. I found some stencils (thank god, I can't actually *draw*), outlined the sides and lid of my box on the scratch paper, and practiced my idea. Cue laughter from my friends, who blithely start painting and creating while I plan an assault. I planned out the colors and layers, checking fired-color compatibility and order-of-events. Laughter. I set up my workspace with a little city of tall bottles and short brushes surrounding my corner of the table. Other people were finished and just watching the rest of us, and I had yet to pick up a paintbrush. Laughter.

I started painting...and the clock was ticktickticking as I had a *lot* to do and the time was crunched. I had to skip some steps (no background color on 2 sides or the lid, didn't finish the bottom/legs, etc) and the teapot graphic leaves something to be desired (in my mind) but I finished it in the time allotted. They closed at 10p, so at 9:55:30 I had my friend use my cc to pay and everything as I furiously painted, and then carefully placed it all on the table...mostly pleased, but I respect the workers and I know how much cleanup they had to do.

Instead, they told me I could keep working until they were done cleaning up! So I put a little more detail on the lid and decided that I was at an impasse--too little time for the work I'd hoped to do. C'est la vie. I cleaned up my stuff to help the staff, and then left to catch the bus home. I read more Idiot Girls', and laughed so hard but tried to keep it in (not a pretty picture, really) until I got home-home. Then I just let it all out, and laughed until tears rolled down my face because Laurie is damn damn funny.

It sure beats crying, in my book. Since I hatehatehate crying (personally), I'm relieved that the laughter did the trick. I'd always rather laugh than cry (which doesn't make me popular at funerals, I've found).

So, next Tuesday I get to go pick up my box. I can't wait to see what it looks like! And it only cost $23. TWENTY THREE DOLLARS! It's better than therapy! Well, technically it *is* therapy, but much more internal and satisfying...and you get a prize at the end.

Off to eat a cookie. I shouldn't but I'm going to anyway.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17