index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: aligned
reading:: Something Rotten
movie du jour:: Another Thin Man
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2004-09-09 | 12:59 p.m.
I have never been so happy that a book's main character died in my life.
I'm ashamed to say that the computer is waaaay smarter than I am. It wouldn't update MM, it ate entries, and I really just need to admit that September isn't my month. (Nor August)

Labor Day weekend was relaxing, to say the least. Stayed in the city, enjoyed the great weather, and read like a fiend. 479 pages to finish by Wednesday, if not sooner, because I had a new Thursday Next book to start and I couldn't until Any Human Heart was done. I have never been so happy that a book's main character died in my life.

Yesterday, I was on my way to the chiropractor when I realized that, unlike other urbanites who measure distances in blocks or minutes, I use a wholly-individual measure of time: hitch time. Specifically, the number of times I have to fumble for my brastrap as it slinks down my bicep and yank it back into active duty. The chiro is 2 hitches, there and back. Up to Water Tower is 4. It's a rather inelegant action, and it didn't help yesterday that a: I had on a tank top with skinny straps as well, and b: it was gusting 35 bajillion mph. The wind (courtesy of Hurricanes Charley, Frances, Ivan, and any subsequent rotational weather system invading the southern United States) attacked from every direction, meaning most people were having problems walking in a straight line. Personally, it made me laugh--people get so frustrated with the unpredictable weather, whereas I think it's Earth reminded everybody that they can't control *everything* on this little planet. So brastrap hitching and wind advisories aside, it was a good afternoon, capped by book group. The theme was High Tea, which always makes me happy. We discussed 2 books (we delayed last month's meeting), Dodie Smith's I Capture the Castle (which seems to be experiencing a revival), and William Boyd's Any Human Heart. Without trying, we read two journal-style books set in England in the first part of the century. It was a rather helpful coincidence! Unfortunately for LMP, the wind had not abated and blew her skirt up around her ears, giving her a chance to relive Marilyn Monroe's famous moment...in full sight of the construction workers at the Palmolive Building. Who on earth works construction at 10p? Crazy men, that's who.

This morning, I saw a woman get on the train wearing gold hoop earrings. However, unlike the rest of us hoop-wearers, these hoops were the size of Oodie's bicep. Seriously. These were mofo earrings. These were earrings that could be used as Hula Hoops. These were earrings that could fit over a baby's head. These were earrings that are the size of Oodie's bicep.

That, my friends, is GINORMOUS. The man has guns. The man has pythons. The man has *arms*.

~~~~~

My chiropractor has been holding out on me. I usually have traction therapy, where I lay face-up on a table and this big roller thing rolls up and down my spine ins a delightfully soothing way. It's very awesome, and it's 12 minutes of heaven. (This slice of heaven also costs something like $50, so once again I say a hearty THANK YOU to Humana, the keepers of my physical well-being...and home of the $10 copay.) However, this time there were no traction beds available so I was led into a room with a newfangled invention. The words 'water' and 'bed' were thrown out over her shoulder as the technician told me to lie down and she'd see me in a bit. Rumbling, shaking, shimmying, dishwasher noises start in a cacophany of sound as I realize that when she said 'water bed' she really meant 'jacuzzi bed', and it really tickles. The premise of this slice of super-heaven is to have strong jets of water run up and down your body, heels to neck, back and forth in a strong yet soothing manner. These jets of water are shooting towards you at 30 billion pounds per square inch, and they tickle. A lot. I found myself laughing out loud at the sheer absurdity of the whole thing, and I couldn't get over the fact that this heated water wasn't getting me wet. I mean, honestly--if it's that much fun, it should be full-immersion. So the water-bed, as they so aptly describe it, was and will be forever more my favorite therapy at Doc Z's. God bless health care.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17