index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: hungry for turkey!
reading:: Premiere's new issue
movie du jour:: Alexander
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2004-11-24 | 9:06 a.m.
Alexander: The Epic of the Ages, pt 1
I'm so conflicted! Loved parts of the movie, hated parts of the movie...so do I recommend it or not?

I'm working on a legitimate review, but losing internet connectivity in 10 minutes isn't going to help matters. I'll post later tonight, but let me just say:

This is a sprawling epic in the greatest tradition. The story of Alexander the Great is a tough one to tell, but I think that Oliver Stone actually did it, and did it well.

His methods, tho...that's another story. Shaky-cam, I'm looking at you.

Needs a big screen, but it's 3 hours and you might prefer to skip some of the battlegore and go straight to Babylon. It's really awesome. Full price? Only if you're into this kind of thing. Otherwise, half-price, baby.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17