index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: full of simmering anger
reading:: Pattern Recognition
movie du jour:: A Christmas Story
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2004-12-03 | 3:43 p.m.
Disney's smarter than we think, obviously
Hell can be found anywhere.

I found hell in the Auditorium Theatre last night as I sat thru 75 minutes of Disney's On the Record, where they recycle and rearrange 74 years of Disney favorites.

I say 75 minutes because we left at intermission. (There's MORE. Stopthepain)

The Chicago Tribune reviews it *much* better (I'd link but I refuse to register, even if it's free) and calls it 'devoid of everything'. I'd agree-it's absolutely shameless. The 4 main singing leads are meh, but the quartet/backups are AWESOME. Remember the kid auditioning for 'Pippen' in Bring it On? Put him in a black tank and slim pants, and give him an oversized microphone stand to sing to/dance with. Jazz hands, indeed.

J, Msue, and I all lost it for the Little Mermaid segment, where they turned the entire set absinthe-green and limbo'd their way across the stage. A wicked JamIrish* accent completed the transformation, proving that white people, no matter their intentions, are not always as accent-able as they think.

We left, gasping for breath as we laughed ourselves silly--and then gasped because someone else had left and thrown their ticket on the sidewalk in disgust. I had a closer look--they had paid $77 and walked out. We paid $10--we figured it was an ok tradeoff.

Who pays $77?!?!?! Disney's smarter than we think, obviously.

Have a great weekend--I'm with Panda, so I know it's gonna rock.

*Jamaican-Irish, tm Georgette

~~~~~

Who neglected to tell me that Gibson's Pattern Recognition is like crack on the printed page, and that I needed a fix?

It's better than good. It's...
addictive.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17