index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: exultant
reading:: People's History of the US
movie du jour:: n/a
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2005-03-08 | 12:22 p.m.
Warning signs of a stroke
A friendly PSA from my Auntie M.

Sometimes symptoms of a stroke are difficult to identify. Unfortunately, the lack of awareness spells disaster. The stroke victim may suffer brain damage when people nearby fail to recognize the symptoms of a stroke. Now doctors say a bystander can recognize a stroke by asking three simple questions:

*Ask the individual to smile.

*Ask him or her to raise both arms.

*Ask the person to speak a simple sentence.

If he or she has trouble with any of these tasks, call 9-1-1 immediately and describe the symptoms to the dispatcher. After discovering that a group of non-medical volunteers could identify facial weakness, arm weakness and speech problems, researchers urged the general public to learn the three questions. They presented their conclusions at the American Stroke Association's annual meeting last February. Widespread use of this test could result in prompt diagnosis and treatment of the stroke and prevent brain damage.

Strokes aren't restricted to old folks or people with bad food habits. Studies show that people even in their 30s have strokes, so everybody's a potential victim. Step outside of your personal bubble if somebody seems to need a little help--who knows? You might save a life when you do.

~~~~~

In more uplifting news, I finished my slipcover for my sofa. WOOOO! I just converted a queen-size flat/fitted sheet combo from Target and, after a lot of measuring, cut once, sewed a LOT, shoved Clem's face out of my way, snagged pins out of her mouth before she choked and died and *that* would have slowed my completion rate waaaay down so it's wise to avert such things, watched some tv, and covered two throw pillows with the matching pillowcases. I must say, I'm quite handy with a sewing machine and a tape measure.

There are no pictures, but be assured that it's quite awesome. If I'm not careful, I'll start working on the Skirt of Death...and I don't know if I'm ready for that kind of commitment.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17