index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: euphoric
reading:: Mere Christianity
movie du jour:: Operation Petticoat
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2005-04-05 | 3:16 p.m.
The mother of all updates
What a fantastic 4 days! Actually, what a week! Tuesday, Momma came in and we wandered the Jackie O exhibit at the Field Museum. We sighed over the couture and delicate work, and wondered just what the hell was she thinking, wearing such heavy fabrics in India an Mexico? And a pencil skirt to ride an elephant?! Riiiiight. It was fantastic, tho. I also stopped in the pre-fab exhibit that I had read about in Dwell--it was pretty interesting. I really liked the idea of home the size of a boxcar that used the 'shell' as the support and property boundary. It's hard to describe, but I liked the utter 'contained' aspect of it, that it was ready for whatever landscape it had to work with. I do love pre-fab, and ecologically-aware, housing. We lazed around Wednesday, hanging up my art that's been sitting on the floor for months. I'm happy to say that Momma was there for it, because I was scared to do it on my own and it turned out to be a rational fear. My walls are masonry and plaster and hollow and wood and trying to anchor something heavy is INSANE. So my highly competent and wall-savvy Momma took charge and made it happen. Thanks, Ma! We hit Soupbox, one of our favorite joints, walked down Halsted in fantastic weather, and headed downtown to get some gelato as the weather turned.

Oh! And I bought my lamp! I've been wanting this lamp forever, but couldn't get my hands on one because I'm not in Cali. We're walking past CB2, a place I abhor, and there it was in the window. I sullenly gave them my money, but now...woo! I have my lamp! I put it together in the flickering light of that night's massive thunderstorms rolling thru the area. That's what I love most about spring--all the storms. They're magnificent. AND I finally finished Middlesex, a book that I've 'borrowed' for a year. I'm happy to say that it's over, because I have 6 books to read!

Friday began with somebody at work complimentarily asking if I'd lost weight. Like any woman, that had me preening all day...regardless of accuracy or truth. I weigh the same...it must be re-settling in new areas, which is something I'll tackle later. That night I hollered at the tv (and the cat) because it was the Battlestar Galactica season finale and they pack a lot into an anxious 14 minutes. I don't know why I get so heavily invested in these dramas, but I just love to suspend all disbelief, ignore the spoilers and throw my emotions around willy-nilly.

Which left me rather pissed after they potentially killed off one of my favorite characters. I'll give them this--they know how to do a cliffhanger.

Saturday, I spent the day with one of my best friends who I never get to see anymore now that we don't work together. Elmie and I went to an 11a show of Sin City, and...wow. I'm not familiar with the graphic novels by Frank Miller, but this movie kicked my ass. It was all noir-y and pot-boiled and full of broads and dames and hard-luck guys, and the whole thing looked like a paper page that magically moved. The casting was fun, but not perfect...but I sure had fun. Then it was off to BedBathBeyond to use a coupon, and there it was: the Holy Grail, my dream machine. A Cuisinart cherry red ice cream machine that I've been lusting over for 2 years. With my coupon, it was just in reach...so I hauled it home in victory and started planning my ice cream/sorbet/gelato fantasies.

Sunday dawned fair and bright, so I headed to work for an hour before the dance concert I had tickets for. I went with D, a fellow dance-ophile, to Hubbard Street Dance's spring concert A. It knocked our socks off...those dancers are insanely lithe and strong and expressive. And the choreography just made me happy--it had parts that were meant to be funny, which is great because I hate the kind of dance that takes itself too seriously. It's supposed to be something wonderful, not fierce. I mean, it can be fierce, but wonderfully fierce. Does that make sense? You're wondering why I went to work, right? Me too. It's because the boss came back from vacation the next day and my office was like...well, something very ugly and messy. And I couldn't bear to have that be the first thing he saw when he came back.

That, and it'd bug the hell out of me and I'd spend most of Monday morning wading thru the ugliness. So it was a personal protective measure.

So after the dance, I had my first major hot cocoa after the Lent denial, and it was as good as I hoped. If you're in Chicago and haven't been to Moonstruck Chocolates, you're missing out bigtime. Then home to be happy and relax a bit and say hi to the roomie who's moving out this weekend and then it's a new week. Again.

Yesterday the weather was fantastic, even if it wasn't as warm as other places (thanks for rubbing it in, Ma) and I decided that there's no excuse left, I mustmustmust get off my ass and run. I've got softball starting in 4 weeks and I can't make it to second without needing a break. Not that I'll get that far, mind you. It's just a goal. So I headed out for a brisk run/walk, and did my 2 miles. I wasn't happy about the stitch in my side, nor did I enjoy the friction itch that appeared on all sorts of leg parts, but it felt good to get moving and get that smell of wind in my hair. I balanced it out by making ice cream (cheesecake flavor, quite deelish with a graham-cracker nest) and did some yoga and resistance-bands.

Either I didn't do enough, or my body's rather forgiving...I don't hurt today.

So, there you have it. A week in the life, and an eventful one at that.

However, and I feel confident in revealing this to you since either a)you've already heard because you're family, or b) you'll be excited to know that

my sister's engaged!!!

We are all so very excited, I can't tell you how excited we are.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17