index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: Spring-y
reading:: Gaudy Night
movie du jour:: The Upside of Anger
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2005-04-08 | 3:55 p.m.
So Long, HBO.
In a move to cut extraneous costs, I am forgoing the pleasures of HBO for the indefinite future. Come May 1, I will no longer be soothed by the vitriolic, and prolific, cursing on Deadwood. I'll also be denied the pleasure of Ian McShane's acting, and that's gonna kill me.

Of course, I'll also miss out on crack movies like The Girl Next Door and some other sad attempts at comedy. I can't say that I'll be missing those. I can't quit cable cold-turkey, so I'll still have my other indispensables like the Food Network and SciFi and Bravo and Spike and A&E. I long for the day when I can pick and choose the cable channels I subscribe to, since I pay for almost 100 and only watch 25. Unfortunately, if they bundle like-genre with like, I'll still have problems. I'm sure I won�t be able to get SciFi without some weirdly-related other channels I'll never watch, or Bravo without Lifetime (because Lifetime's all about reality shows that dovetail nicely with shows like Showbiz Dogs and their owners who forget they aren't parents (me? I just watch Bravo for the cute gay boys and their drama)). I can skip the news block entirely, deleting CNN, MSNBC, FoxNews, etc with abandon. I'd ask who needs that many news sources, but I don't have picture-in-picture either for news-in-news so I'm a Luddite who gets her news the old-fashioned way...delivered to her front steps 3 times a week. If there's more news than that, I'm sure I'll get a glimpse during my 5 minute news stopover around 9:30 every night as I try to catch just the weather on all the Chicago stations for my own version of 'balanced reporting'. My needs are the weather, in as many descriptive ways as possible. I admit I love TV with the intensity of an original TWoPer, but I'd like to think I can survive without HBO, at least in the beginning. Besides, Deadwood will be on DVD and I can rent that, right?
*sigh*
It's gonna be a long summer.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17