index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: like a fire drill
reading:: Cannery Row
movie du jour:: Mad Hot Ballroom
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2005-06-21 | 10:44 a.m.
A week in the life of...
Things I've never seen, 'til now, in the past 7 days:

The original Batmobile, parked innocently in front of my building and surrounded by anxious security guards

A wild-haired granny in a be-dazzled lime green satin jacket who, upon further inspection, was actually Don King

Three businessmen sitting in a row of barber chairs getting a trim while people flow around them towards the front doors of the building

My actual scar, with no sutures, band aids, or tape in the way. Damn. That's a big cut. And it's healing quite nicely. Did I mention how awesome Dr Gordon Siegel is? Because that man, no matter how quirky, knows his way around a scalpel.

A jazz octet with not only a tuba, but a sousaphone. I have never encountered one outside of Music Man, and the closest I've ever come is watching summers of DCI (Go Cavaliers!). It was awesome. This guy was huffing and puffing his heart out, working twice as hard as the rest of the group. You ain't heard nothin' 'til you hear a sousaphone soloist improvise his way around a piece. (He took a well-deserved swig of Corona during another solo.) I left just as they were tackling Stars & Stripes Forever.

All my plants are thriving and blooming. It is a miracle. Even the gardenia is budding.

Silverado. Why have I missed this movie? Who cast this film and what did they know? Brian Dennehy. Kevin Kline. Scott Glenn. Kevin Costner. John Cleese. Danny Glover. Linda Hunt. Twenty years later, I marvel at both the casting and the actual film. It's...a true Western in my book. AMC had a Wild West Weekend, full of movies I haven�t seen in years. Silverado was followed by Two Mules for Sister Sara, a movie I confused/mushed with Rooster Cogburn--but it's easy to excuse. A grizzled cowboy henpecked by a famous woman? Could be either one. And High Noon...true classic. Grace Kelly probably caused a lot of tentative conversion to the Quaker faith, but sailing off to Monaco might have led to few adoptions of faith.

A shelf bare of Real Simple. Yes, I actually threw away 3 years of that magazine...but not before ripping out every page I found slightly interesting. Another 45 pounds of paper for the Chicago Recycling program to bury in an Indiana landfill.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17