index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: pensive
reading:: old Real Simple mags
movie du jour:: Kontroll
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2005-06-22 | 10:21 a.m.
When's the last time you wrote a letter?
There's something so wonderful about getting an unexpected email from a friend I haven't talked to in a long time. I love to send letters/cards to people (who doesn't love to get a real card in the mailbox?) and sometimes it's disheartening to not hear back from them either via email or snail mail. But then sometimes out of the blue, an email (or hand-written letter) will appear and it makes it worth it.

I recognize it's hard to keep in touch with our busy lives, but it's also nice to see somebody else take the time to write me a letter about their own current events.

Letter-writing is hard. It's basically a self-centered monologue that feels rather awkward to send, unasked, to someone else. Even when I send a (paper) letter to one of my best friends who returns letters regularly, it's less a dialogue and more...selfish. I'm sure I'm just weird, but it feels funny to brag about accomplishments and self-promote without provocation. Don't get me wrong, I also include my stupid things that are the antithesis of accomplishments, but still... self-promotion is tough. Finding that tone of 'this is what's happening in my life, but it's not that it's any better than yours, and therefore, what's your news?' is probably easier than I think, but I always try to compensate with personalized cards.

I think people don't write enough any more. We should have packets of letters from good friends, not just email folders of bits and bytes. There's something to be said about putting your words down by hand, scratching out the wrong word and being raw and unpolished. The real you, presented on paper and sent via post to someone whom you're willing to give that part of yourself. And it takes effort, a lot more effort than dashing off an email at work (or home, but mostly at work, over lunch or coffee or while waiting for the printer to finish). Sit down, write, find a stamp and actually get it into the mail box before the week's over.
(Hey, we all have our foibles.)
Some Fridays, I come home from work, make some dinner (shocking, I know) and start to write letters. Once I write the first one, it's easier. The words come quicker, clearer; my ability to express myself intelligently comes back. And I send a little mental hug to each person I write, because I only write to the people I wish I could talk to in person--which always includes a hug.

Hugs are awesome.

And maybe that's the underlying reason I love sending, and receiving, letters. They're like long-distance hugs that you hold in your hand.

Write a letter, a postcard (it counts!), a note to somebody. Browse the card section (with a time limit or you'll never escape) to find the pefect card for a friend, and send it off. You might find that you'll get one back.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17