index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: overwhelmed
reading:: The Big Over Easy
movie du jour:: Frida
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2005-08-04 | 12:57 p.m.
T-minus 23 hours 'til wheels up
The best time to update one's website is when one leaves for a trip in 23 hours and one isn't prepared for it at all.

So here I am, telling you that I'm doing swell. The minor surgery went well, I'm nursing 4 small incisions back to scabs, and I've learned that they will put an IV pretty much anywhere they whim. No rhyme or reason, just wherever they feel like it. (The vein on the side of my wrist wouldn't be my first choice, y'know?)

Also, they need to revise their whole "don't eat for 12 hours" mandate because some of us aren't hungry at midnight so we don't have that snack and when we're approaching a (delayed) noon surgery and we haven't had anything to eat in 18 hours? We are not amused.
Or anywhere near user-friendly. We told them to either knock us out or give us a shot of glucose to stop the crash, and that if the anaesthesiologist was busy, we just needed something heavy and hard and we'd do it ourself.
(I'm all about the royal We, apparently.)

So other than that, all's well that end's well (and I never knew what that meant but I use it with abandon) and now I'm starting to pack and clear off my desk at work for the little intern who will be covering for me (poor kid) and researching digital cameras since I want one and this is as good a time as any to obsess over something. And I'm nowhere near being a Mandarin-speaker and have no idea what bags to take for my various toting needs(shut it) and I'm worried it's going to raining the whole time I'm there, both cities, and I'm avoiding finishing a project and calling 2 people back to finalize a nebulous plan and I really, really need another day to do this travel-thing right.

Which I don't have, so I pity anybody who hangs out tonight with me...like MLB, who's house-sitting without the aid of a/c.

I would've put it in but the surgery, she made me weak and helpless and unable to wrestle a 4-ton window a/c unit up to a sill appx 5 feet off the ground.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17