index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling::
reading::
movie du jour::
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2005-10-13 | 6:13 p.m.
China 2005-Part 1of many
So.
China.
First off�all photos are not mine and have been taken by people whose cameras were most definitely not stolen during their trip.

After a relaxing interlude in the fancypants American lounge and a last-minute call to Citibank to tell them that I would actually be making the purchases in China so please don't embarrass me by declining my card thanks, I breezed onto the plane without standing in line. I tell you, money does have its privileges and I love every one. The flight was long; we climbed to top of the world and for one brief moment my retinas burned with the brilliant white of it all. I was seated in the upper deck of my double-decker plane, which was very exciting and strange during our time on the ground. It�s trite, but everything was much farther away and liftoff seemed delayed in my brain. While the food, accommodations and service were fantastic, my petty sadness stemmed from the fact that Madagascar was all screwed up on Channel 1, and my headphone-jack was broken, requiring strange contortions to maintain stereophonic sound.

It doesn�t sound like much of an inconvenience, but after 10 hours of it, I was ready for anything that wasn�t outta Hollywood. The Beijing Airport seemed sleek and modern in the international wing, and customs were a shock. The hotel had a car for me, which meant I had my own personal guide thru customs, and she met me �inside� immigration, leading me to the shortest line and then to my baggage carousel. At that moment, I thanked the powers that be for allowing this small expense�the pressure of figuring out signage was removed, and I could focus on the minutiae of a foreign airport. The baggage carousels� centers were covered in Astroturf and populated by a variety of small animals; one had wee pandas, another gigantic origami cranes. The terrain, as seen from the sky, was oddly familiar to me with rolling hills of corn and tall stands of trees and small roads found in the Midwest. This began my constant reminder that a) Beijing has the same latitude as home, and b) this is not the Gobi desert. It might be the other side of the world, but it�s not the other side of the ecological world.
My hotel was a cool oasis of Western reserve, full of incredibly polite staff and a multi-national guest registry. Women wearing my salary lounged with family over pots of tea and men huffed thick cigar smoke. I was jetlagged but curious, and took a quick spin around the hotel and adjoining underground mall. I gaped at the pool, ran off some energy (in hopes of starting a new fitness regime, and yes I recognize that it�s sheer madness but I was hopeful), and ordered room service for the first time in my life. I�m still not sure if I like it, but I sure as hell like the part where I ate a very nice meal swaddled in a plush robe and watching BBC World. A word about that fantastic channel�BBC World is one of those things that, like Coke and cookies, is immediately accessible and grounding no matter where I travel. I fell asleep around 8p, hoping for a good six hours of sleep or more. Yeah�I got my six hours, but I also had to endure five hours of insipid movies beginning at 2a. I will never, ever complain about my cable programming again.
EVER.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17