index
older
mail
guestbook
Leave me a note! (log in?)
designed by lex
hosted by..
feeling:: ready to blow this popstand!
reading:: Middlesex (on the plane)
movie du jour:: Ocean's Eleven
My cd/dvd Wish List

Movie Reviews

- last entry / next entry -

2004-08-05 | 4:51 p.m.
I will be in Montreal for approximately 48 hours. I am currently planning on taking clothes to last me 48 days.
So what does a girl pack when going away for the weekend? She could just throw a few things in a bag, grab some cute shoes and a book for the plane, and take off, passport in hand and ready for adventure.

And then there's me.

For a weekend, I write a two-page, itemized list.

I also check the weather, research my destination, and obsess over details like OHare delays and customs agents. I will be in Montreal for approximately 48 hours. I am currently planning on taking clothes to last me 48 days. I'm such a what-if planner. I'm meeting Georgette in a french-like city, where we plan to wander around, eat a lot of croissants and crepes, and just be ourselves. If you wear the black uniform, you fit in pretty much wherever you go.

But what if we go out to a fancy dinner? What if I need layers? What if we go out clubbing? What if it rains? (Pretty likely, actually) What if I sit in a camouflaged pit o' goo and ruin my pants?

Heaven forbid I just *buy* a new pair. Noooo... I just need stuff.

You wouldn't know it, but I've gotten much better at packing for these sorts of adventures. I've learned that I live in the same pants and shoes, regardless of what else I bring. I don't need 3 kinds of leg-coverings, that my jeans and a skirt will be fine. Who the hell do I have to impress? It's gonna be overcast, cool, and possibly raining all weekend. Comfy shoes, cute flat black shoes for night, jeans, a skirt, 3 shirts, and a jacket. I don't *need* anything else...but what if? *sigh*

Five bucks says that I won't wear at least one article of clothing that I bring along 'just in case'.

I'd take a smaller bag to force myself to pack light, but I *do* love me some shopping in foreign lands. Not only is it fun, I usually find odd souveniers for myself and others. How else would I carry it home? Never again will I board a plane with my drunk suitcase, a small backpack, and an over-stuffed squat square shopping bag as I juggle a poster tube. That was hell, *and* it included a layover. I've learned from my mistakes!

I also tossed that suitcase. I refuse to put myself thru that again.

~~~~~

Off to Broadway in Chicago this evening. It's the first show, The King and I. The good: I love the musical starring Yul Brenner and Deborah Kerr. The bad: I'm not a fan of Sandy Duncan. She just...I think of her voice as shrill. I hope I'm wrong. Either way, however, I'm going with J and M, and we've signed up for the entire series. Expect me to weigh in with my opinions on these things; I'll be in good reviewing form by January, when we see Spamalot!

Speaking of BiC--we played them 2 weeks ago for softball, and they are the most enthusiastic team I have ever had the pleasure to watch/play. They knew they were unathletic, but refused to let that interfere with their fun. We might have slaughtered them, but they were more exuberant than the winners! Right field was played by a crazy dancin' man, who did a nice jazz combo while at bat. Who needs to throw the ball when you can put on a show in the batter's box? Another guy jangled at the plate, and when I asked him about it he told me that he had all the keys--"If I go down, The Oriental is yours." They were there for the love of the game and the friendship forged in (a lost) battle.
Some days, I'd like to be on that team.

Saying all that, we're ready for battle Wed at 5:20. Pray for victory. We deserve it.

~~~~~

Sekrit message for the lovely and patient MR: I promise to do better. Honest.


- last entry / next entry -

recent entries:
I ain't no skating queen - 2006-01-18
Tie-dye should only happen in college - 2006-01-09
Homeowner 101, or: Why I rent. - 2006-01-04
The Great Tree Debacle - 2005-12-06
China 2005-Part 5 of many - 2005-10-17